I understand the hassle of ingredient checking. I hate sifting through tiny print for non-vegan ingredients like casein, whey, gelatin, and rennet. There are a lot of non-vegan items that aren’t obviously non-vegan: Skittles, Frosted Mini Wheats, and Guinness (a heartbreaker).
Still, I don’t grab a pack of turkey sausage or box of Cheez-Its and check the ingredients. Because the name of the food gives it away.
So why does this:
I understand the severity of food allergies. But I still raided the fridge and pantry in disbelief.
Apparently we can thank the FDA for this (FALCPA). The same group that allows up to 30 insect parts per 100 grams of peanut butter requires that Skippy remind customers that Skippy peanut butter contains peanuts.
Maybe someone at the FDA is trying to limit potential material for The Darwin Awards.
I’d like to see some consumer-submitted additions to the “Contains” list.
Note to consumers: this blog does not actually contain piss or vinegar.